Councillors & MP

Parish Councillors as at May 2019


Lorraine Thompson         61 Birchwood Drive, Ulverston, LA12 9PL                       01229 580982


Helen Slater                       New House, Pennington, Ulverston, LA12 7NU              07756 576918


Yvonne Athersmith           5 Parkfield, Swarthmoor, Ulverston, LA12 0HW            01229 586400

Harold Stretch                   40, Park Field, Swarthmoor, LA12 0HP                            01229 585118

Alastair Davidson


Swarthmoor Ward – we currently have 2 existing vacancies
Pennington Ward – we currently have  0 vacancies

We would like to encourage members of the community to consider taking on this rewarding role. It is important that we continue to represent the views and concerns of residents with local, county and national agendas and initiatives,  this is only possible through community engagement and representation. Please do not hesitate to contact the Parish Clerk if you would like to discuss becoming a parish councillor.

Allocation of councillor duties :-

Allotments Mr Stretch
Amenities Mrs Slater
Bus Shelters Clerk
CALC Mrs Thompson
Church Liaison Mrs Athersmith
Footpaths  Mr Davidson
Grants/ Funding Mrs Slater
Grass Cutting Mrs Slater
Highways Clerk
 Loppergarth Playground Mrs Thompson
Planning Mrs Slater/ Mrs Athersmith
Policies Clerk/ Mrs Slater
Social Media/ Website Clerk/ Mrs Athersmith
Sunnyside/ Parish Rooms Mr Stretch/ Mrs Slater/ Mr Davidson
Swarthmoor Playground/ Hard Play Area Mr Stretch
Telephone Box Book Exchange Mrs Athersmith
War Memorial Mrs Athersmith

Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer:

Lynn Bell
26 Moorgarth
Swarthmoor, Ulverston
Cumbria LA12 0HX
Tel. 01229 242166
E mail:

District & County Councillors

District Councillor Caroline Airey
Telephone: 01229 868088

Mid Furness – Conservative

District Councillor Ben Cooper

Mid Furness – Conservative

District Councillor Janet Willis
Telephone: 01229 861250

Mid Furness – Liberal Democrat


County Councillor Janet Willis
Telephone: 01229 861250

Low Furness – Liberal Democrat

I run Greenodd Village Store & Post Office with my husband, Lloyd. The Post Office counter has since been closed but we still provide an outreach service.
Coming from an urban area I very much appreciate our rural communities and want to work to sustain and if possible, improve our way of life in the South Lakes.

Member of Parliament

Simon Fell MP